Patchwork [4.9,29/59] efi/libstub/arm64: Force hidden visibility for section markers

login
register
mail settings
Submitter Greg Kroah-Hartman
Date Nov. 21, 2018, 7:06 p.m.
Message ID <20181121183509.397770471@linuxfoundation.org>
Download mbox | patch
Permalink /patch/662091/
State New
Headers show

Comments

Greg Kroah-Hartman - Nov. 21, 2018, 7:06 p.m.
4.9-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>

commit 0426a4e68f18d75515414361de9e3e1445d2644e upstream.

To prevent the compiler from emitting absolute references to the section
markers when running in PIC mode, override the visibility to 'hidden' for
all contents of asm/sections.h

Tested-by: Matthias Kaehlcke <mka@chromium.org>
Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: linux-efi@vger.kernel.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170818194947.19347-4-ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
 drivers/firmware/efi/libstub/arm64-stub.c |   10 +++++++++-
 1 file changed, 9 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

Patch

--- a/drivers/firmware/efi/libstub/arm64-stub.c
+++ b/drivers/firmware/efi/libstub/arm64-stub.c
@@ -9,9 +9,17 @@ 
  * published by the Free Software Foundation.
  *
  */
+
+/*
+ * To prevent the compiler from emitting GOT-indirected (and thus absolute)
+ * references to the section markers, override their visibility as 'hidden'
+ */
+#pragma GCC visibility push(hidden)
+#include <asm/sections.h>
+#pragma GCC visibility pop
+
 #include <linux/efi.h>
 #include <asm/efi.h>
-#include <asm/sections.h>
 #include <asm/sysreg.h>
 
 #include "efistub.h"