Patchwork [v3,13/17] SUPPORT.md: Add secondary memory management features

login
register
mail settings
Submitter George Dunlap
Date Nov. 22, 2017, 7:20 p.m.
Message ID <20171122192024.21187-13-george.dunlap@citrix.com>
Download mbox | patch
Permalink /patch/388327/
State New
Headers show

Comments

George Dunlap - Nov. 22, 2017, 7:20 p.m.
Signed-off-by: George Dunlap <george.dunlap@citrix.com>
Acked-by: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@suse.com>
---
Changes since v2:
- Add PoD entry
- memsharing x86 -> experimental, ARM -> {}

CC: Ian Jackson <ian.jackson@citrix.com>
CC: Wei Liu <wei.liu2@citrix.com>
CC: Andrew Cooper <andrew.cooper3@citrix.com>
CC: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@suse.com>
CC: Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@kernel.org>
CC: Konrad Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
CC: Tim Deegan <tim@xen.org>
CC: Tamas K Lengyel <tamas.lengyel@zentific.com>
---
 SUPPORT.md | 37 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 37 insertions(+)

Patch

diff --git a/SUPPORT.md b/SUPPORT.md
index 2d4386ad68..63f6a6d127 100644
--- a/SUPPORT.md
+++ b/SUPPORT.md
@@ -205,6 +205,43 @@  Export hypervisor coverage data suitable for analysis by gcov or lcov.
 Allows a guest to add or remove memory after boot-time.
 This is typically done by a guest kernel agent known as a "balloon driver".
 
+### Populate-on-demand memory
+
+    Status, x86 HVM: Supported
+
+This is a mechanism that allows normal operating systems with only a balloon driver
+to boot with memory < maxmem.
+
+### Memory Sharing
+
+    Status, x86 HVM: Expermental
+
+Allow sharing of identical pages between guests
+
+### Memory Paging
+
+    Status, x86 HVM: Experimenal
+
+Allow pages belonging to guests to be paged to disk
+
+### Transcendent Memory
+
+    Status: Experimental
+
+Transcendent Memory (tmem) allows the creation of hypervisor memory pools
+which guests can use to store memory
+rather than caching in its own memory or swapping to disk.
+Having these in the hypervisor
+can allow more efficient aggregate use of memory across VMs.
+
+### Alternative p2m
+
+    Status, x86 HVM: Tech Preview
+    Status, ARM: Tech Preview
+
+Allows external monitoring of hypervisor memory
+by maintaining multiple physical to machine (p2m) memory mappings.
+
 ## Resource Management
 
 ### CPU Pools