Patchwork [v3,07/17] SUPPORT.md: Add virtual devices common to ARM and x86

login
register
mail settings
Submitter George Dunlap
Date Nov. 22, 2017, 7:20 p.m.
Message ID <20171122192024.21187-7-george.dunlap@citrix.com>
Download mbox | patch
Permalink /patch/388301/
State New
Headers show

Comments

George Dunlap - Nov. 22, 2017, 7:20 p.m.
Mostly PV protocols.

Signed-off-by: George Dunlap <george.dunlap@citrix.com>
---
Changes since v2:
- Define "having xl support" as a requirement for Tech Preview and Supported
- ...and remove backend from xl support section
- Add OpenBSD blkback
- Fix Linux backend names
- Remove non-existent implementation (PV USB Linux)
- Remove support for PV keyboard in Windows (Fix in qemu tree didn't make it)

CC: Ian Jackson <ian.jackson@citrix.com>
CC: Wei Liu <wei.liu2@citrix.com>
CC: Andrew Cooper <andrew.cooper3@citrix.com>
CC: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@suse.com>
CC: Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@kernel.org>
CC: Konrad Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
CC: Tim Deegan <tim@xen.org>
CC: Roger Pau Monne <roger.pau@citrix.com>
CC: Anthony Perard <anthony.perard@citrix.com>
CC: Paul Durrant <paul.durrant@citrix.com>
CC: Julien Grall <julien.grall@arm.com>
---
 SUPPORT.md | 150 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 150 insertions(+)

Patch

diff --git a/SUPPORT.md b/SUPPORT.md
index dd3632b913..96c381fb55 100644
--- a/SUPPORT.md
+++ b/SUPPORT.md
@@ -128,6 +128,10 @@  Output of information in machine-parseable JSON format
 
     Status: Supported
 
+### QEMU backend hotplugging for xl
+
+    Status: Supported
+
 ## Toolstack/3rd party
 
 ### libvirt driver for xl
@@ -223,6 +227,152 @@  which add paravirtualized functionality to HVM guests
 for improved performance and scalability.
 This includes exposing event channels to HVM guests.
 
+## Virtual driver support, guest side
+
+### Blkfront
+
+    Status, Linux: Supported
+    Status, FreeBSD: Supported, Security support external
+    Status, NetBSD: Supported, Security support external
+    Status, OpenBSD: Supported, Security support external
+    Status, Windows: Supported
+
+Guest-side driver capable of speaking the Xen PV block protocol
+
+### Netfront
+
+    Status, Linux: Supported
+    States, Windows: Supported
+    Status, FreeBSD: Supported, Security support external
+    Status, NetBSD: Supported, Security support external
+    Status, OpenBSD: Supported, Security support external
+
+Guest-side driver capable of speaking the Xen PV networking protocol
+
+### PV Framebuffer (frontend)
+
+    Status, Linux (xen-fbfront): Supported
+
+Guest-side driver capable of speaking the Xen PV Framebuffer protocol
+
+### PV Console (frontend)
+
+    Status, Linux (hvc_xen): Supported
+    Status, Windows: Supported
+    Status, FreeBSD: Supported, Security support external
+    Status, NetBSD: Supported, Security support external
+
+Guest-side driver capable of speaking the Xen PV console protocol
+
+### PV keyboard (frontend)
+
+    Status, Linux (xen-kbdfront): Supported
+
+Guest-side driver capable of speaking the Xen PV keyboard protocol
+
+### PV USB (frontend)
+
+    Status, Linux: Supported
+
+### PV SCSI protocol (frontend)
+
+    Status, Linux: Supported, with caveats
+
+NB that while the PV SCSI backend is in Linux and tested regularly,
+there is currently no xl support.
+
+### PV TPM (frontend)
+
+    Status, Linux (xen-tpmfront): Tech Preview
+
+Guest-side driver capable of speaking the Xen PV TPM protocol
+
+### PV 9pfs frontend
+
+    Status, Linux: Tech Preview
+
+Guest-side driver capable of speaking the Xen 9pfs protocol
+
+### PVCalls (frontend)
+
+    Status, Linux: Tech Preview
+
+Guest-side driver capable of making pv system calls
+
+## Virtual device support, host side
+
+For host-side virtual device support,
+"Supported" and "Tech preview" include xl/libxl support
+unless otherwise noted.
+
+### Blkback
+
+    Status, Linux (xen-blkback): Supported
+    Status, FreeBSD (blkback): Supported, Security support external
+    Status, NetBSD (xbdback): Supported, security support external
+    Status, QEMU (xen_disk): Supported
+    Status, Blktap2: Deprecated
+
+Host-side implementations of the Xen PV block protocol
+
+### Netback
+
+    Status, Linux (xen-netback): Supported
+    Status, FreeBSD (netback): Supported, Security support external
+    Status, NetBSD (xennetback): Supported, Security support external
+
+Host-side implementations of Xen PV network protocol
+
+### PV Framebuffer (backend)
+
+    Status, QEMU: Supported
+
+Host-side implementaiton of the Xen PV framebuffer protocol
+
+### PV Console (xenconsoled)
+
+    Status: Supported
+
+Host-side implementation of the Xen PV console protocol
+
+### PV keyboard (backend)
+
+    Status, QEMU: Supported
+
+Host-side implementation fo the Xen PV keyboard protocol
+
+### PV USB (backend)
+
+    Status, QEMU: Supported
+
+Host-side implementation of the Xen PV USB protocol
+
+### PV SCSI protocol (backend)
+
+    Status, Linux: Experimental
+
+NB that while the PV SCSI backend is in Linux and tested regularly,
+there is currently no xl support.
+
+### PV TPM (backend)
+
+    Status: Tech Preview
+
+### PV 9pfs (backend)
+
+    Status, QEMU: Tech Preview
+
+### PVCalls (backend)
+
+    Status, Linux: Experimental
+
+PVCalls backend has been checked into Linux,
+but has no xl support.
+
+### Online resize of virtual disks
+
+    Status: Supported
+
 # Format and definitions
 
 This file contains prose, and machine-readable fragments.