Patchwork [v3,10/17] SUPPORT.md: Add Debugging, analysis, crash post-portem

login
register
mail settings
Submitter George Dunlap
Date Nov. 22, 2017, 7:20 p.m.
Message ID <20171122192024.21187-10-george.dunlap@citrix.com>
Download mbox | patch
Permalink /patch/388295/
State New
Headers show

Comments

George Dunlap - Nov. 22, 2017, 7:20 p.m.
Signed-off-by: George Dunlap <george.dunlap@citrix.com>
---
Changes since v2:
- gdbsx -> not security suported
- Added host serial, host debug keys, and host sync_console entries

CC: Ian Jackson <ian.jackson@citrix.com>
CC: Wei Liu <wei.liu2@citrix.com>
CC: Andrew Cooper <andrew.cooper3@citrix.com>
CC: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@suse.com>
CC: Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@kernel.org>
CC: Konrad Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
CC: Tim Deegan <tim@xen.org>
---
 SUPPORT.md | 58 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 58 insertions(+)

Patch

diff --git a/SUPPORT.md b/SUPPORT.md
index f357291e4e..ee069f8499 100644
--- a/SUPPORT.md
+++ b/SUPPORT.md
@@ -138,6 +138,64 @@  Output of information in machine-parseable JSON format
 
     Status: Supported, Security support external
 
+## Debugging, analysis, and crash post-mortem
+
+### Host serial console
+
+    Status, NS16550: Supported
+	Status, EHCI: Supported
+	Status, Cadence UART (ARM): Supported
+	Status, PL011 UART (ARM): Supported
+	Status, Exynos 4210 UART (ARM): Supported
+	Status, OMAP UART (ARM): Supported
+	Status, SCI(F) UART: Supported
+
+XXX Should NS16550 and EHCI be limited to x86?  Unlike the ARM
+entries, they don't depend on x86 being configured
+
+### Hypervisor 'debug keys'
+
+    Status: Supported, not security supported
+
+These are functions triggered either from the host serial console,
+or via the xl 'debug-keys' command,
+which cause Xen to dump various hypervisor state to the console.
+
+### Hypervisor synchronous console output (sync_console)
+
+    Status: Supported, not security supported
+
+Xen command-line flag to force synchronous console output.
+Useful for debugging, but not suitable for production environments
+due to incurred overhead.
+
+### gdbsx
+
+    Status, x86: Supported, not security supported
+
+Debugger to debug ELF guests
+
+### Soft-reset for PV guests
+
+    Status: Supported
+
+Soft-reset allows a new kernel to start 'from scratch' with a fresh VM state,
+but with all the memory from the previous state of the VM intact.
+This is primarily designed to allow "crash kernels",
+which can do core dumps of memory to help with debugging in the event of a crash.
+
+### xentrace
+
+    Status, x86: Supported
+
+Tool to capture Xen trace buffer data
+
+### gcov
+
+    Status: Supported, Not security supported
+
+Export hypervisor coverage data suitable for analysis by gcov or lcov.
+
 ## Memory Management
 
 ### Dynamic memory control