Patchwork [v3,08/17] SUPPORT.md: Add x86-specific virtual hardware

login
register
mail settings
Submitter George Dunlap
Date Nov. 22, 2017, 7:20 p.m.
Message ID <20171122192024.21187-8-george.dunlap@citrix.com>
Download mbox | patch
Permalink /patch/388293/
State New
Headers show

Comments

George Dunlap - Nov. 22, 2017, 7:20 p.m.
x86-specific virtual hardware provided by the hypervisor, toolstack,
or QEMU.

Signed-off-by: George Dunlap <george.dunlap@citrix.com>
---
Changes since v2:
- Updated Nested PV / HVM sections
- Removed AVX section
- EFI -> OVMF

Changes since v1:
- Added emulated QEMU support, to replace docs/misc/qemu-xen-security.

Need to figure out what to do with the "backing storage image format"
section of that document.

CC: Ian Jackson <ian.jackson@citrix.com>
CC: Wei Liu <wei.liu2@citrix.com>
CC: Andrew Cooper <andrew.cooper3@citrix.com>
CC: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@suse.com>
CC: Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@kernel.org>
CC: Konrad Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
CC: Tim Deegan <tim@xen.org>
CC: Roger Pau Monne <roger.pau@citrix.com>
CC: Anthony Perard <anthony.perard@citrix.com>
CC: Paul Durrant <paul.durrant@citrix.com>
---
 SUPPORT.md | 105 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 105 insertions(+)

Patch

diff --git a/SUPPORT.md b/SUPPORT.md
index 96c381fb55..98ed18098a 100644
--- a/SUPPORT.md
+++ b/SUPPORT.md
@@ -373,6 +373,111 @@  but has no xl support.
 
     Status: Supported
 
+## Virtual Hardware, Hypervisor
+
+### x86/Nested PV
+
+    Status, x86 Xen HVM: Tech Preview
+
+This means running a Xen hypervisor inside an HVM domain on a Xen system,
+with support for PV L2 guests only
+(i.e., hardware virtualization extensions not provided
+to the guest).
+
+This works, but has performance limitations
+because the L1 dom0 can only access emulated L1 devices.
+
+Xen may also run inside other hypervisors (KVM, Hyper-V, VMWare),
+but nobody has reported on performance.
+
+### x86/Nested HVM
+
+    Status, x86 HVM: Experimental
+
+This means providing hardware virtulatization support to guest VMs
+allowing, for instance, a nested Xen to support both PV and HVM guests.
+It also implies support for other hypervisors,
+such as KVM, Hyper-V, Bromium, and so on as guests.
+
+### vPMU
+
+    Status, x86: Supported, Not security supported
+
+Virtual Performance Management Unit for HVM guests
+
+Disabled by default (enable with hypervisor command line option).
+This feature is not security supported: see http://xenbits.xen.org/xsa/advisory-163.html
+
+## Virtual Hardware, QEMU
+
+These are devices available in HVM mode using a qemu devicemodel (the default).
+Note that other devices are available but not security supported.
+
+### x86/Emulated platform devices (QEMU):
+
+    Status, piix3: Supported
+
+### x86/Emulated network (QEMU):
+
+    Status, e1000: Supported
+    Status, rtl8193: Supported
+    Status, virtio-net: Supported
+
+### x86/Emulated storage (QEMU):
+
+    Status, piix3 ide: Supported
+    Status, ahci: Supported
+
+### x86/Emulated graphics (QEMU):
+
+    Status, cirrus-vga: Supported
+    Status, stgvga: Supported
+
+### x86/Emulated audio (QEMU):
+
+    Status, sb16: Supported
+    Status, es1370: Supported
+    Status, ac97: Supported
+
+### x86/Emulated input (QEMU):
+
+    Status, usbmouse: Supported
+    Status, usbtablet: Supported
+    Status, ps/2 keyboard: Supported
+    Status, ps/2 mouse: Supported
+
+### x86/Emulated serial card (QEMU):
+
+    Status, UART 16550A: Supported
+
+### x86/Host USB passthrough (QEMU):
+
+    Status: Supported, not security supported
+
+## Virtual Firmware
+
+### x86/HVM iPXE
+
+    Status: Supported, with caveats
+
+Booting a guest via PXE.
+PXE inherently places full trust of the guest in the network,
+and so should only be used
+when the guest network is under the same administrative control
+as the guest itself.
+
+### x86/HVM BIOS
+
+    Status: Supported
+
+Booting a guest via guest BIOS firmware
+
+### x86/HVM OVMF
+
+    Status: Supported
+
+OVMF firmware implements the UEFI boot protocol.
+
 # Format and definitions
 
 This file contains prose, and machine-readable fragments.