Patchwork [v3,02/17] SUPPORT.md: Add core functionality

login
register
mail settings
Submitter George Dunlap
Date Nov. 22, 2017, 7:20 p.m.
Message ID <20171122192024.21187-2-george.dunlap@citrix.com>
Download mbox | patch
Permalink /patch/388287/
State New
Headers show

Comments

George Dunlap - Nov. 22, 2017, 7:20 p.m.
Core memory management and scheduling.

Signed-off-by: George Dunlap <george.dunlap@citrix.com>
---
Changes since v2:
- s/Memory Ballooning/Dynamic memory control/;
- And add a description that mentions ballooning

CC: Ian Jackson <ian.jackson@citrix.com>
CC: Wei Liu <wei.liu2@citrix.com>
CC: Andrew Cooper <andrew.cooper3@citrix.com>
CC: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@suse.com>
CC: Tim Deegan <tim@xen.org>
CC: Dario Faggioli <dario.faggioli@citrix.com>
CC: Nathan Studer <nathan.studer@dornerworks.com>
---
 SUPPORT.md | 62 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 62 insertions(+)

Patch

diff --git a/SUPPORT.md b/SUPPORT.md
index e3d5d1de8d..934028074b 100644
--- a/SUPPORT.md
+++ b/SUPPORT.md
@@ -16,6 +16,68 @@  for the definitions of the support status levels etc.
 
 # Feature Support
 
+## Memory Management
+
+### Dynamic memory control
+
+    Status: Supported
+
+Allows a guest to add or remove memory after boot-time.
+This is typically done by a guest kernel agent known as a "balloon driver".
+
+## Resource Management
+
+### CPU Pools
+
+    Status: Supported
+
+Groups physical cpus into distinct groups called "cpupools",
+with each pool having the capability
+of using different schedulers and scheduling properties.
+
+### Credit Scheduler
+
+    Status: Supported
+
+A weighted proportional fair share virtual CPU scheduler.
+This is the default scheduler.
+
+### Credit2 Scheduler
+
+    Status: Supported
+
+A general purpose scheduler for Xen,
+designed with particular focus on fairness, responsiveness, and scalability
+
+### RTDS based Scheduler
+
+    Status: Experimental
+
+A soft real-time CPU scheduler
+built to provide guaranteed CPU capacity to guest VMs on SMP hosts
+
+### ARINC653 Scheduler
+
+    Status: Supported
+
+A periodically repeating fixed timeslice scheduler.
+Currently only single-vcpu domains are supported.
+
+### Null Scheduler
+
+    Status: Experimental
+
+A very simple, very static scheduling policy
+that always schedules the same vCPU(s) on the same pCPU(s).
+It is designed for maximum determinism and minimum overhead
+on embedded platforms.
+
+### NUMA scheduler affinity
+
+    Status, x86: Supported
+
+Enables NUMA aware scheduling in Xen
+
 # Format and definitions
 
 This file contains prose, and machine-readable fragments.