Patchwork [15/16] SUPPORT.md: Add statement on migration RFC

login
register
mail settings
Submitter George Dunlap
Date Nov. 13, 2017, 3:41 p.m.
Message ID <20171113154126.13038-15-george.dunlap@citrix.com>
Download mbox | patch
Permalink /patch/383523/
State New
Headers show

Comments

George Dunlap - Nov. 13, 2017, 3:41 p.m.
Signed-off-by: George Dunlap <george.dunlap@citrix.com>
---
Would someone be willing to take over this one?

CC: Ian Jackson <ian.jackson@citrix.com>
CC: Wei Liu <wei.liu2@citrix.com>
CC: Andrew Cooper <andrew.cooper3@citrix.com>
CC: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@suse.com>
CC: Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@kernel.org>
CC: Konrad Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
CC: Tim Deegan <tim@xen.org>
CC: Roger Pau Monne <roger.pau@citrix.com>
CC: Anthony Perard <anthony.perard@citrix.com>
CC: Paul Durrant <paul.durrant@citrix.com>
CC: Julien Grall <julien.grall@arm.com>
---
 SUPPORT.md | 30 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 30 insertions(+)

Patch

diff --git a/SUPPORT.md b/SUPPORT.md
index a8388f3dc5..e72f9f3892 100644
--- a/SUPPORT.md
+++ b/SUPPORT.md
@@ -294,6 +294,36 @@  This includes exposing event channels to HVM guests.
 
 ## High Availability and Fault Tolerance
 
+### Live Migration, Save & Restore
+
+    Status, x86: Supported, with caveats
+
+A number of features don't work with live migration / save / restore.  These include:
+ * PCI passthrough
+ * vNUMA
+ * Nested HVM
+
+XXX Need to check the following:
+ 
+ * Guest serial console
+ * Crash kernels
+ * Transcendent Memory
+ * Alternative p2m
+ * vMCE
+ * vPMU
+ * Intel Platform QoS
+ * Remus
+ * COLO
+ * PV protocols: Keyboard, PVUSB, PVSCSI, PVTPM, 9pfs, pvcalls?
+ * FlASK?
+ * CPU / memory hotplug?
+
+Additionally, if an HVM guest was booted with memory != maxmem,
+and the balloon driver hadn't hit the target before migration,
+the size of the guest on the far side might be unexpected.
+
+See docs/features/migration.pandoc for more details
+
 ### Remus Fault Tolerance
 
     Status: Experimental